PDA

View Full Version : email warning


David
03-05-2004, 09:44 AM
I go this in email today with the sender supposedly being administrator@patriotfiles.com. This is a spoofed address. This address never has and never will exist. Do not open the attachment associated with this email as it is an attempt to spread a virus.

Text of email message:

Dear user of e-mail server "Patriotfiles.com",

Your e-mail account will be disabled because of improper using in next three days, if you are still wishing to use it, please, resign your account information.

Advanced details can be found in attached file.

For security reasons attached file is password protected. The password is "37163".

The Management,
The Patriotfiles.com team http://www.patriotfiles.com

sfc_darrel
03-05-2004, 01:38 PM
You may want to move this to a more obvious location.

I got an email from my company (actually 4 copies-they understand that subtlity doesn't work) saying don't open emails from support@(company name).com It is virus generated and there is a virus attached.

Keep up the good work,
Joy

MORTARDUDE
03-05-2004, 02:32 PM
Just an FYI :

I average several "spoofs" related to AOL, eBay, and Paypal every week. I report these via the "spoof@sitename" mechanism...It appears that now they are moving into other areas as well...Thanks.

Larry

the humper
03-05-2004, 02:54 PM
Got one yesterday supposedly from Yahoo.com with, basically the same garbage. And their syntax would have been a giveaway by itself!!!!!!!!!!
SF
NC