The Patriot Files Forums

The Patriot Files Forums (http://www.patriotfiles.com/forum/index.php)
-   Marines (http://www.patriotfiles.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=95)
-   -   A military spokesman calls for increased accountability and transparency (http://www.patriotfiles.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1517867)

Boats 04-28-2021 11:39 AM

A military spokesman calls for increased accountability and transparency

‘I drew the line at lying to reporters”— A military spokesman calls for increased accountability and transparency
By: Paul Gainey - The War Horse & Task & Purpose News
Re: https://taskandpurpose.com/opinion/m...-transparency/

Subject: 'Unshackled from the intolerant, old boys’ club culture found in the Marine Corps, I have started to feel like I can be myself and contribute in even more meaningful ways'

Once a Marine, always a Marine. The Marines have used that tired slogan for decades to sell camaraderie and belonging. But as a public affairs officer, I knew the Corps had an ugly history of misogyny, racism, and hazing—all issues that make so many Marines feel persecuted and excluded from that vaunted camaraderie.

Despite these disturbing and often neglected issues, I chose to look past such unacceptable attitudes and focus on the sacrifice, honor, and courage it takes to succeed as a Marine.

I now know that was a mistake.

As a spokesperson, I had the opportunity to tell Marines’ stories in an authentic and honest way. I got to lead using creativity and storytelling to present Marines’ lives in a way that would break through to the public. I loved showing that the Marine Corps can help anyone become a more productive and confident person. I once facilitated CBS This Morning’s visit to Camp Pendleton so they could show the public how women in combat arms jobs successfully served at the tactical level in the largest ground combat unit in the Marine Corps—one of my proudest career moments.