The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Conflict posts > World War II

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-09-2004, 09:18 PM

Default Naval Academy grads who participated in Normandy Invasion

I'm a freelance writer who needs to contact survivors of the Normandy invasion, still living, who graduated from the Naval Academy. I need this information within a few days so would appreciate any assistance folks can give.

Richard Dykeman
rdykeman@comcast.net
sendpm.gif Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-09-2004, 09:51 PM

Distinctions
VOM Contributor 
Post Richard,

Wouldn't the Naval Academy have those records? My assumption is that Naval Academy grads would have been working with the Shipping part of the operation. I have a friend who was a Naval Medic and he landed on the Beaches several times to help evacuate wounded off the beach on Normandy. But, he never went inland with the troops.

Keith
Old 04-10-2004, 08:56 AM

Keith:
Thanks for replying. The Academy keeps their records "close to their vest," unless one has the proper authorizations, which I don't. Neither does the retired Marine Corps Col. with whom I am working. Not sure what it takes but we will keep trying.

Landing on D-Day at Normandy and graduating from the Academy qualifies, if you would forward me his information, or ask him to contact me, would be most appreciative.

Ellensburg is one of my favorite places, back home. I'm a Seattle native, and we used to travel east frequently to visit relatives in Idaho. Always stopped in Ellensburg. Haven't seen it for 40 years though since moving east. See ya,

Dick Dykeman
Old 04-11-2004, 08:00 AM

Distinctions
VOM Contributor 
Post It seems to me that the record of the Naval Academy . . . . .