The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Conflict posts > Vietnam

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-21-2003, 02:50 PM

Distinctions
VOM Contributor 
Default Did anyone else receive an email about Vietnam from Germany like this ?

I received this on 4/28 and sent the response below. I have heard nothing. Was she looking for some other kind of answer ?
Just wondered if anyone else had a similar experience...

Larry

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Hello Mr. Nuckolls,

my name is Gerlinde-Christa Gillig and I am writing to you as I found your posting on the veterans history channel.

Posted by MORTARDUDE
Posted on 2/27/03 1145 AM
Category Vietnam
Title come over to our website www.patriotfiles.com

I am a graduate student of Otto-Friedrich University, Bamberg, Germany, English Major. Some time ago I took a class on the Vietnam War. We had to read quite a number of books about this war (Dispaches, When we were soldiers, 13th Valley, A rumor of war etc.). The more I was reading the more I wanted to research about it. The chronology and drama about Vietnam in general were easy to understand, yet very hard to imagine.
I decided to write my dissertation about Vietnam, specifically : Mythmaking in the Media. The Representation of the My Lai Massacre in the American Press.
What I would like to focus on in this workpiece is the press and media and how they presented the war to the public. Parallel to that, however, I think it is very important and interesting to talk to the soldiers, reporters, photographers who were there and what they saw, what the felt and thought back then and now about the Vietnam and try to present their experiences as much as I can without press restrictions etc.
You are one of the first soldiers that I am writing to and the reason I am doing this is because I was wondering whether I could have some of your time? I would like ask you a few questions about your time in Vietnam and with your permission include this interview into my dissertation.