The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > General > General Posts

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-06-2002, 01:50 PM

Default considering military officer career - seeking advice

I am a college grad seeking acceptance into the Army's OCS program to be commissioned as an officer. I was hoping that someone with military experience would be willing to partake in an email conversation regarding the pros and cons of this decision. Because of my location far away from any military presence and absence of military representation from my family and friends, I have very limited access to educated advise.

My family (conservative midwest with absolutely NO military representation... and former 'hippy' parents to boot), represents only the con side - which is mainly influenced by what my father reads in historical fiction novels and what they are shown by Hollywood. My recruiter, well, he's a salesman - and only represents a heavily biased pro point of view. Both sets of view are highly unrealistic. What I really need is someone who can provide some REAL insight for me that is not biased completely on the pros or the cons - although I am after officer commissioning - the opinions of both officer and enlisted ranks are considered relevant.

I would greatly appreciate the time taken by anyone to respond to this. Replies by email (annonymousbrad@hotmail.com... yeah, I know it's spelled wrong... don't tell the Army about my spelling issues, please.), or through this message board are both appreciated. Thank you for your time in helping me out in making this HUGE decision.

Thank you for your time,
BRAD

The following is my letter of intent included with my packet... I am not looking for a critique of content... it's already handed in anyway - I've included it to provide more insight into my personal situation. Of course the recruiter says the Army can help provide what I am looking for... but he is required to say that. I'm after some genuine opinions.