The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Military News > Air Force

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-27-2021, 05:39 AM

Arrow The Air Force is moving to confront China’s threat to our national security

The Air Force is moving to confront China’s threat to our national security
By: Charles Q. Brown Jr. - U.S. Air Force chief of staff & The Washington Post - 09-27-21
Re: https://www.washingtonpost.com/opini...onal-security/

Photo link: https://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-ap...DSBI.jpg&w=916
A U.S. Air Force C-17 Globemaster III. (Tech. Sgt. Gregory Brook/AP)

Like many senior officers who entered the military in the 1980s, I have lived through dramatic changes in warfighting focus in support of U.S. national security.

At the beginning of my career, I was a fighter pilot focused on the deterrence and, if necessary, defeat of the Soviet military machine. Within a few years, the Berlin Wall had collapsed, the Cold War had ended and the United States had shifted its emphasis to the Middle East and desert warfare with Iraq. Then came Bosnia, Kosovo and, finally, 9/11 and a 20-year effort to counter terrorist organizations.

We kept our nation safe, but it came at a cost.

When the Berlin Wall fell in 1989, the United States was no longer driven by the pressure of strategic competition with the Soviet Union, and we became the world’s lone superpower. In that role, we faced an unrelenting series of challenges after 9/11, while China and Russia upgraded their militaries in menacing ways — building new technologies in space, in cyberspace, on land, at sea and in the air. Now, as my service’s senior uniformed officer, I have evaluated the Air Force’s need to rapidly pivot to address these security challenges — and published a strategic approach whose title embodies our imperative: “Accelerate Change or Lose.”