The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > General > General Posts

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-26-2006, 12:15 PM
Banned

Distinctions
Contributor 
Default 3 firefighter die in Palm beach fire

Fighting forest/wildland fires is a waste of time and money. Theres a reason there are no 1,000 year old trees in the areas of California that burns every year, It's call nature. Your not going to win against mother nature. Thats the fault of COMMAND, In a fire this size the homes should be protected as the manpower is available, and thats it. Theres no reason these 3 had to die. As an engine company officer, I guarantee that they would be alive today if I was on that engine. Nothing brave, just retreat when retreat is warranted. If an officer can't tell that the fire is heading in there direction, just what is this person doing in charge of an engine and it's crew. One time , in my career has someone other than me been injured on a fire scene, I felt very, very bad about that time.

Ron
Sponsored Links
Old 10-26-2006, 06:38 PM

Distinctions
VOM 

My dad always told me if you live in the woods\brush to always BULLDOZE a fire break wide enough that the tallest near tree couldn't fall on your roof. and keep shrubs and undergrowth away from your homes foundation.seems after 100 or so years these folks out in California and other places like it would get the hint that mother nature likes to set fires to clean up the environment.
A house/structure can be replaced but a person is not. It was definitely senseless for those three firemen to die, God bless them and their families
Old 10-26-2006, 07:46 PM

Distinctions
VOM Contributor 

News later in the day indicated that an arsonist started the fire, and now the charges will be upgraded to murder. With a $100g reward out there, somebody just might rat this POS out.