Old 12-05-2003, 05:15 AM

Distinctions
VOM 
Cool Making a 'Smooth' Transition

Making a 'Smooth' Transition
Submitted by: 13th MEU
Story Identification Number: 2003123112712
Story by Capt. Bill Pelletier

ABOARD USS PELELIU(Dec. 3, 2002) -- It's been a busy year for Maj. Barry Dowell and some of his comrades.

In October 2002, Dowell, a Harrier pilot by trade, was doing refresher training at VMAT-203, a training squadron at MCAS Cherry Point, N.C., after serving as a flight instructor in Texas for two years.

Fast forward to three weeks ago, and Dowell had completed more than a dozen combat missions, most of them north of Baghdad.

"It's pretty wild," said the 34-year-old Lexington, Ky., native, call sign 'Smooth.'

During October and early November, AV-8B Harriers from Marine Medium Helicopter Squadron 163(Reinforced), the Aviation Combat Element of the 13th Marine Expeditionary Unit (Special Operations Capable), flew more than 150 sorties and 230 hours in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom.

According to Maj. John 'Bull' Rahe, the officer in charge of the Harrier detachment from VMA-513, MCAS Yuma, day missions flown were largely for reconnaissance, keeping an eye on oil pipelines up north while the rest of the MEU was on the al-Faw peninsula conducting Operation Sweeney. Surveillance and reconnaissance information was passed directly to MEU forward air controllers on the ground, who passed the information to ground forces to act upon.

"Missions at night were more varsity," said Rahe, who flew combat missions over southern Iraq during Operation Southern Watch in 1998.

"We went deeper into the country and performed close air support for Army ground units executing ground sweeps and raids."

Rahe was the operations officer at VMAT-203 last October. He and Maj. Jeff Fails, also with the 13th MEU, were getting ready to transfer to Yuma after completing tours as instructor pilots at 203.