The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > General > Political Debate

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-24-2005, 10:43 AM

Distinctions
VOM Contributor 
Default OK Republicans---You HAPPY NOW?

What-tha-hell have I been telling y'all!

Can you NOW please take off those "rose colored" sun-shades and SEE what I've been saying for the last FIVE YEARS!

Bush is a FREAKIN LIER!

#####

Funds for Health Care of Veterans $1 Billion Short

2005 Deficit Angers Senate Republicans, Advocacy Groups

By Thomas B. Edsall

Washington Post Staff Writer

Friday, June 24, 2005; A29

The Bush administration, already accused by veterans groups of seeking inadequate funds for health care next year, acknowledged yesterday that it is short $1 billion for covering current needs at the Department of Veterans Affairs this year.

The disclosure of the shortfall angered Senate Republicans who have been voting down Democratic proposals to boost VA programs at significant political cost. Their votes have brought the wrath of the American Legion, the Paralyzed Veterans of America and other organizations down on the GOP.

"I was on the phone this morning with Secretary of Veterans Affairs Jim Nicholson, letting him know that I am not pleased that this has happened," said Sen. Larry E. Craig (R-Idaho), chairman of the Senate Veterans Affairs Committee. "I am certain that he is going to take serious steps to ensure that this type of episode is not repeated." (No hell he won't!---He's GEE-W's "lap dog"---he ain't gonna bite the CIC....Gimp)

The $1 billion shortfall emerged during an administration midyear budget review and was acknowledged only during lengthy questioning of Jonathan B. Perlin, VA undersecretary for health, by the House Veterans Affairs Committee at a hearing yesterday.