The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Conflict posts > Vietnam

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-24-2002, 09:18 AM
Wannabe/Poser

Distinctions
VOM 
Default 26 weeks of hell only to become a 2LT

Was reading the posts on Basic training and got to recalling Artillery OCS at Ft. Sill Ok. Wonderfull place, for an artillery range.
The day we reported in at Robinson barracks there were 137 of us in class 7-67. 5 candidates dropped on the low crawl down the drainage ditch to the barracks because we were not good enough to be on the sidewalks. 26 weeks later we graduated a total class of 44, 27 of us started with the class. I remember Jarks on MB4 (I graduated Jark King with 235 miles in 6 months), Marching to Mess and eating a square meal, being charged with attempted murder by an upperclassman for laying my knife on the edge of my plate with the blade turned outward. Wifes and girlfriends making Mcdonalds runs. A Marine gunnery officer Cpt Wesley T. Youngblood. Bitter cold windy days on the OP. Taking our morning run through the ROTC camp. That proud day when we turned upperclass and could wear our low-quarters with the horseshoe taps. Endless hours of study to learn surveying, map reading, fire direction, gunnery, Tac Air support, combined arms and massed artillery fire. Nights spent cleaning polishing and waxing. ONLY TO BECOME A 2LT. Had already been airborne, went to SFQC. Pathfinder and Ranger, None came close to that 26 weeks at Robinson Barracks. This post is dedicated to Major William E. Adams FA my first cousin. Helicopter pilot, MOH (post-humous)
Sponsored Links
Old 07-24-2002, 10:17 AM

Distinctions
VOM Contributor 
Unhappy

I think of your cousin more than I tell you - I am thankful for his service and saddened by his loss. I am thankful also that we both made it home 31 years ago and that we have today to tell of the past and remember. Don't write serious stuff till after lunch - makes my aid's fog up. Welcome home bro. !