Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Conflict posts > World War II

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-08-2009, 07:14 AM
Administrator

Distinctions
Special Projects VOM Staff Contributor 
Default Suspect in Nazi trial admits killings

AP

AACHEN, Germany – A former member of the Nazi SS being tried for murder admitted in court Tuesday that he killed three Dutch civilians during World War II, but insisted he was following orders.

Heinrich Boere told the Aachen state court in a statement read by attorney Gordon Christiansen that he had killed a bicycle-shop owner, a pharmacist and another civilian in 1944 as a member of a Waffen SS hit squad.

"As a simple soldier, I learned to carry out orders," Boere said in his statement.

"And I knew that if I didn't carry out my orders I would be breaking my oath and would be shot myself."

The 88-year-old faces a possible life prison sentence if convicted of three counts of murder.

Boere has not entered a plea, as is usual under the German court system, but Christiansen said after the hearing that he would argue for an acquittal based on the assertion that Boere had to follow orders.

The prosecution has painted Boere as a willing member of the fanatical Waffen SS, which he joined shortly after the Nazis had overrun his hometown of Maastricht and the rest of the Netherlands in 1940.

Boere was born in Eschweiler, Germany, on the outskirts of Aachen, where he lives today. The son of a Dutch man and a German woman, he moved to the Netherlands when he was an infant.

After volunteering for the SS, he fought on the Russian front, and then ended up back in the Netherlands as part of "Silbertanne" — a unit of largely Dutch SS volunteers responsible for reprisal killings of their countrymen.

Boere told the court that his superiors said his victims were to be killed in revenge for attacks by the Dutch resistance.