The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Conflict posts > Vietnam

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-29-2002, 07:50 PM

Send a message via Yahoo to Cwilkens
Default 716 Mpbn

I am a new member and an old vet.

I was a member of 'Charlie' Company of the 716 MP BN stationed in Saigon, Vietnam, during 1967 - 1968. We were garrisoned in Tent City B between MACV Headqurters and Ton Son Nhut Air Force Base.

I was assigned MACV Security Details, Town Patrols, Jeep and Gun Patrols in the city. I am a TET survivor of BOQ#3, the Dien Biegh Hotel, actions on Plantation Road, and Newport Bridge.

I live and work in New Jersey. I teach history and coach at a local high school and I work as an adjunct professor at a small Catholic college.

I am married have two children, a son-in-law and a gorgeous grand-daughter, and a mutt that thinks she 'owns' the house.

I am interested in messages from those interested either e-mail or forum messages.

cwilkens/716 MP BN/ Saigon/ 1967-68
sendpm.gif Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-30-2002, 04:21 AM

Distinctions
POM Contributor 

A personal "Welcome Home" and thank you for your service. I hope your time with us willl be a time of healing...

Thomas Jefferson, Kentucky Resolutions of 1798: "In questions of power then, let no more be heard of confidence in man, but bind him down from mischief by the chains of the Constitution."
Old 05-30-2002, 05:40 AM

Distinctions
Staff VOM 
Cool Hey Bro

716th MP's part of the 89th MP Group. Your HQ in the City was known as Waco on the radio net. If you worked nights on roving patrols you had a back up (eventually), one platoon from Co C, 52nd Infantry. You Mama's and Papa's called the 52nd the "Bushmen" or the "Animals". I worked in the gun jeep platoon starting in January of '69. We were HQed at the Catitol Hotel on the Cholon end of Trung Hung Dow.