The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > General > Political Debate

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-19-2005, 10:10 PM

Distinctions
VOM Contributor 
Default "DIRTY Politics"!

At it's WORST!

If this article below dosen't prove without a DOUBT what I've been saying for more than 10 years now about this "NEW BREED" of Republicans and their lack of support for Military Veterans,...........then NOTHING does!

###START###

It's Buyer Beware

By Larry Scott

Military.com

November 18, 2005

Last week, as most politicians were fine-tuning the speeches they would give on Veterans' Day, Representative Steve Buyer (R-IN), Chairman of the House Committee on Veterans' Affairs was busy fine-tuning the way veterans service organizations are heard on Capitol Hill. In the past, Buyer has called for sweeping changes to veterans' benefits and compensation. If implemented, these changes would deny benefits to many veterans and reduce benefits for many more.

Buyer ascended to that powerful position after Republican Party leadership led to the unceremonious ouster of Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ) earlier this year. Smith was an outspoken veterans' advocate and had sought increases in funding for the Department of Veterans' Affairs healthcare budget.

Not so with Rep. Buyer..... Buyer is known in the Republican Party as a team-player who does not stray from the Party line. In the veterans' community, Buyer is known as a hard-liner who tenaciously resists any effort to fully fund VA healthcare. Buyer announced in a November 8 press release that he would now be holding hearings on the VA budget in February instead of March. The hearings would be before the HCVA only, not the traditional House and Senate venue.