The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Branch Posts > Marines

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-04-2003, 06:19 AM

Distinctions
VOM 
Cool Marine struts his stuff from free throw to field

Marine struts his stuff from free throw to field
MARINE CORPS BASE HAWAII, KANEOHE BAY, Hawaii -- The crowd goes wild as a 6-foot-5-inch, 190-pound Marine charges down the basketball court, quickly dodging his opponents.

He elevates in the air as the crowd goes silent. The look of intensity on his face grows stronger as he slams the ball fiercely into the hoop while his opponents stare in awe.

This is Nathan McQuirter, a 24-year-old artilleryman for Bravo Battery, 1st Bn., 12th Marine Regiment at MCB Hawaii, Kaneohe Bay, in action during a basketball game.

He began playing at age 9, since then it has been a passion and a dream for him.

"I started playing basketball in the 3rd grade," said the Mobile, Ala., native as he brushes dirt and residue accumulated on his face from firing a 155-mm Howitzer. "I had dreams of playing in the [National Basketball Association] since that age."

McQuirter's first organized team was in the 8th grade.

"Basketball kept me out of trouble when I was a kid," he recalled with a smile, as artillery rounds fiercely exploded in the background. "It was all I did in my spare time."

After completing middle school, McQuirter became the youngest student on the varsity basketball team for Ben C. Raines High School in Mobile. The majority of the players were juniors or seniors, 17-18 years old.

McQuirter was a young freshman and only 15 when he was selected.

"I felt even more motivated to play, because no other freshman was good enough to make the team," he remembered.

By the time McQuirter completed 9th grade, he and his teammates had secured a state championship under their belts.