The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Veterans > Veterans Concerns

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-27-2018, 09:29 AM

Arrow I'm An Army Vet Who Once Thought An AR-15 Was No Big Deal. Now, I Want It Banned.

I'm An Army Vet Who Once Thought An AR-15 Was No Big Deal. Now, I Want It Banned.
By: ANNA BERNOULLI - FEBRUARY 27, 2018, 8:00 AM
RE: http://www.refinery29.com/2018/02/19...orida-shooting

In 2018, I find two sides of myself at odds. I am an Army veteran whose training leads her to consider the M-4 rifle and its civilian equivalent, the AR-15, normal and not an especially big deal. I am also a mother who sends her kids to a public school every day, and has been horrified by overhearing her Kindergartener discuss lockdown drill procedures. In today’s America, only one side of this internal conflict can win.

I remember a conversation with my parents after another shooting. My mother, a longtime elementary school teacher, was understandably emotional. “It sprays a hail of bullets!” she said of the AR-15. “Why would anybody need one of those?!” I shook my head, thinking how uninformed civilians were, and explained that semiautomatic means the rifle feeds another round into the chamber by itself rather than being manually fed as is the case with lever action rifles, but that only one round is released per trigger squeeze. I explained that it was not much different from some deer rifles in that way.

My interactions with other civilians led me to believe that most calls to ban weapons like the AR-15 were rooted in misunderstanding of their features. I reduced their entire argument to that. To me, the M-4, and therefore the AR-15, was no big deal. It fired drastically fewer rounds in a minute than the M-249 light machinegun I also carried during my time in the Army, and wreaked substantially less havoc than the Mk-19 grenade launcher that was mounted on top of my squad’s Humvee.