The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Conflict posts > Vietnam

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-05-2003, 09:15 PM

Default Salem,Virginia PTSD Program

I am a Vietnam veteran, and a graduate of the in-patient Post Traumatic Stress Disorder treatment program at the VA Medical center in Salem, Virginia. The PTSD Treatment Program at the VAMC in Salem, is one of the very best in the VA system. Actually, it is the best on the east coast. Many veterans from Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Washington DC, Tennessee, North carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Pennsylvania, often wait as long as a year to get into the program. It is a 6 week long intensive psychodrama based program, that is geared toward addressing trauma related issues inherent in combat veterans. However, the program has become so underfunded, and understaffed, that it is now in jeopardy. At one time, this program had 19 staff members, but due to military reserve commitments, retirement, and disabilities, the program is now down to 11 staff members. Six of those members, are nursing staff, which leaves only five to run the program. Out of the five, one is the Director, who is responsible for the overall coordination of the program, The Director does not play a day to day role in conducting the program. out of the four left is the in-take coordinator, who is busy with evaluating and screening new applicants, and also does not play a major role in the operation of the program. So, in actuality, that leaves only 3 people to run the program. I understand, that the program has now reduced the number of veterans it will evaluate, and where a new group for the program is normally 15 veterans, that has now been whittled down to 11. In comparison, another PTSD program at the VAMC in Salisbury,North Carolina (in the same VISN as Salem), has 29 employees, and 19 full-time staff, and they are NOT a psychodrama based program.