The Patriot Files Forums  

Go Back   The Patriot Files Forums > Branch Posts > Marines

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-03-2003, 05:16 AM

Distinctions
VOM 
Cool Sign linguist makes graduation special - Interpreter for hearing impaired helps recru

Sign linguist makes graduation special - Interpreter for hearing impaired helps recruit's family listen to sounds of celebration
Submitted by: MCRD San Diego
Story Identification Number: 20031031134452
Story by Cpl. Shawn M. Toussaint

MARINE CORPS RECRUIT DEPOT SAN DIEGO, Calif.(October 31, 2003) -- A magical thing happens on almost every Friday aboard the Marine Corps Recruit Depot San Diego. The magic happens to the sound of more than 600 recruits marching proudly onto the parade deck, to the rhythms and melodies of Marine Band San Diego and finally to the screams of admiration of the families and friends of all the graduating Marines.

Company I graduated Oct. 24 and everyone attending experienced the unique sounds of a Marine graduation ceremony, including two hearing impaired visitors from Chicago. For the first time in Depot history, a translator for the deaf was used to bring the sounds of graduation to life for two family members who couldn't hear.

For Jean Luther-White and Kevin Passley, the translator's facial expressions and hand symbols were music to her eyes.

Though Luther-White could not hear the cheers or the playing of the national anthem, the once-in-a-lifetime experience of her son's graduation was not spoiled.

"I am proud of my son," wrote a smiling Luther-White on a tattered note pad. "He worked hard to be a Marine."

Pvt. Sonny White, Platoon 3018, Company I, felt like a five-year-old on Christmas morning when he found out from his drill instructor that his family was going to be present at his graduation, according to Cpl. Lindsey A. Hooge, protocol noncommissioned officer-in-charge.